English assignment

1. Do you feel illegal immigrants should be granted all the same rights (and more) than nationalized citizens?

I believe that all human beings should be treated equally. When it comes to immigrants, it is extremely complicated to say if they should be granted all the same rights and more, than nationalized citizens.

Immigrants are people who leave their countries for different reasons: war, political issues, religion, etc. When they enter a new country, they are already called immigrants, and they don’t have legal documents to have the same rights as citizens. I can support my idea by talking about the U.S. as I have some information on how the system works there. When you win a green card, after a few years, it is easier to become a citizen, and before citizenship, you are granted some advantages, such as getting support from the government for living, getting free education, and health insurance. These are very important benefits, that even some citizens might not have, and not be able to afford. If you don’t have a green card, life is going to be more challenging, and there are a lot of procedures to go through. The doors of opportunity are not open for everyone in every country, including the U.S. First, the government should know what the reason is that an immigrant wants to remain there, and one has to go through very detailed security to make sure he/she is not a terrorist or criminal and is a victim who is afraid to go back to his/her country of birth.

Security is a number one priority in every country, and for that reason, I think it would not be right to treat or grant an immigrant the same rights as a national citizen.

2. Should violent video games be banned?

I think violent video games should definitely be banned, and here is why. When underaged kids play such games, they see the violence happening such as using guns, stabbing, blood, killing, punching, etc.

I think that it could affect the human mind. I don’t play such games, but I know people who do. For more mature human beings, for example, my classmates, my older cousins, and my friends who play violent video games, they play when they are bored and feel entertained by it, but for the younger humans such as my younger cousins, they very much take influence from the violence in the games. My little cousin, not only has developed negative speech, but also has bought toy guns, and swords and plays with his toys as if he is trying to kill the bad guys and in the end, someone wins. Due to the negative effect that it can leave on a person, he/she might even be forced to commit crimes in real life and/or suicide. Some even argue that these games can turn one into becoming a serial killer.

I do agree that for a child they are entertaining games and even for teens, but it spreads a negative effect on a human, and I most definitely think that they should be banned.

3. What are the advantages and disadvantages of distance learning?

As a representative of the distance learner community, I think that one of the advantages of distance learning is focus. Since I am a very shy and not talkative person, I enjoy spending most of my time at home, and being in my comfort zone helps me focus on my tasks a lot better. Not really productive with my time management, but that is a “me” problem, but doing it this way is definitely the better way for me. Another advantage of distance learning is working on your own to get things done. Distance learning, means you don’t have teachers that are physically there to explain and show you how it’s done. You still have teachers who check and give pieces of advice, and suggestions to make your work better. Although you have to do most of the explaining to yourself, and learning and understanding the lessons and assignments yourself. It teaches you how to work independently, by yourself, and rely on your own knowledge and abilities.

However, there are also disadvantages to distance learning. My mom usually says that it makes me lazy. I go to bed very late and wake up late as well, it reduces my energy to do assignments and I feel down and tired for the rest of the day. I struggle with waking up early and getting things done efficiently, however, I still manage to finish all of my assignments. Another disadvantage of distance learning is communication. Since you don’t go to school you don’t get much communication as everyone who does go to school. I personally don’t like communicating so this isn’t a disadvantage for me, but it definitely helps to make new friends and have more fun when you attend school.

One thought on “English assignment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started